The Allied Health Professions Council of South Africa

ensuring quality complementary and alternative healthcare of choice

Composition of Council

The AHPCSA consists of 17 members:
11 members elected from the registered professions
4 community representatives appointed by the Minister of Health
1 member in the employment of the Department of Health
1 member appointed by the Minister due to his/her legal experience and knowledge

Council Members for the term of office 2016 – 2021

DoH Representative
– Mr Fhatuwa (Bruce) Mbedzi

Legal Advisor
– Mr Rashid Patel

Community Representatives
– Mr Malik Mosesanyane
– Dr Johan Smit
– Prof Michael Jobson
– Ms Helen (Linky) Molatoli

Professional Members
Dr Thirputhi Govender

Dr Wagheda Cassiem
Chinese Medicine & Acupuncture

Dr Christopher Yelverton

Dr Natalya Dinat

Dr Stephen Farrugia

Dr Patrick McDonald

Dr Craig Wright

Dr Joanne Gilbert
Therapeutic Aromatherapy

Ms Magrieta Marais
Therapeutic Massage Therapy

Ms Magdalena (Maggie) Roux
Therapeutic Reflexology

Dr Faeeza Abdullatief

Council Committees

The Executive Committee for 2016/7:
Dr Christopher Yelverton

Dr Craig Wright
Vice – Chairperson

Dr Wagheda Cassiem
Dr Thirputhi Govender
Ms Helen (Linky) Molatoli

Finance Committee: Established to manage the funds of Council and to advise Council on financial matters; in consultation with finance contractors and Council appointed auditors: To be elected at the inaugural meeting.

Dr Johan Smit
Mr Malik Mosesanyane
Dr Anette Saaiman

Education Committee: Established to advise Council on matters of education and training in allied health professions:

Ms Helen (Linky) Molatoli

Dr Chris Yelverton
Dr Wagheda Cassiem
Private Providers to confirm their representative

The Administration

Dr Louis Mullinder

Ms Telele Mathinjwa
Legal Assistant to the Registrar

Ms Beverley Hirst
Director of Operations

Ms Portia Maple
Administration Supervisor (files L – Z)

Ms Camille Terry
Administration Officer (files A – K)

Mr Mpho Motau
Junior Administration Officer and Filing Clerk

All correspondence to and communication with the Council must be addressed to the Registrar and sent to Council House. See Contact Details on the home page.

For more information on the AHPCSA or specific questions go to the FAQ pages.
For more information on the individual professions see “Professional Boards”.